juliamhammond

The Devil reads Pravda?

Putin’s “Don’t mess with me” attitude and his questionable actions and policies have given Russia back its bad name.  But don’t let that put you off visiting: Russia’s an absorbing and diverse country which deserves your attention.  The reality of a holiday in Russia is is as far removed from the country’s political reputation as it gets: http://travelexperts.justgorussia.co.uk/2015/10/13/whats-it-really-like-to-holiday-in-russia-nowadays/

ows_139397456099202

Steve Sack, Star Tribune

When I took a rail holiday following the Trans-Mongolian route, I had no idea what to expect, but my most enduring memory from that fortnight is of the warmth of the Russian people. From the army officer who shared his food and photos of his wife to the little old lady who made sure I got the right bus back to Irkutsk from Lake Baikal, I experienced a welcome that, if I’m honest, I didn’t expect.  You can read more about it here: http://travelexperts.justgorussia.co.uk/2015/11/03/russia-by-rail/

IMG_8767

Family time by Lake Baikal

Really, the only gruffness came from the guards at Lenin’s Mausoleum who shooed me on when I paused just a little too long to look at that waxy body.  The provodnitsas on my trains ran a tight ship, for sure, but they needed to make sure everything ran smoothly – who wants to witness an altercation from a sleeping compartment when you didn’t plan to get off the train for three days?

IMG_8166

High kicks of which a dancer would be proud

For me, Russia was a country of immense beauty; from Suzdal’s magical churches to the tumbledown wooden shacks of rural Siberia, the country presented photo opportunity after photo opportunity.

IMG_8422

Suzdal is packed full of historic churches

Moscow was fascinating, and aside from rather wet walk through flooded streets on arrival, a city I enjoyed immensely. The language and alphabet are different, but didn’t prove an insurmountable problem, and there are plenty of companies out there to assist with booking train tickets and securing visas.

IMG_8174

If all else fails, look for somewhere with a picture menu

IMG_8699

Or an English menu!

My advice is to go. You’re hardly likely to bump into Putin in a country that size.  Why not read some more of my blogs for Just Go Russia and see what you’d be missing.  Here are just a few:

A diverse country http://travelexperts.justgorussia.co.uk/2015/10/12/dobry-den-welcome/

Northern Lights http://travelexperts.justgorussia.co.uk/2015/12/10/see-the-northern-lights-in-russia-this-year/

Historic treasures http://travelexperts.justgorussia.co.uk/2015/10/30/the-kremlins-hidden-treasures/

Enjoy your trip!

2 responses

  1. Karen Robertson

    Hi Julia,

    As always, I enjoyed reading your travel article “The Devil reads Pravda”. I also want to say “thanks” from me for this article as I’ve always been wary about going to Russia and this article dispels my fears.

    Love, Karen xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    January 24, 2016 at 10:54 am

  2. That’s great Karen, it’s a great place!

    Like

    January 24, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Leave a Reply

